RSS Feed

Daily Archives: July 19, 2011

I’m Addicted To You

Posted on

My niece Deja (now 15) looked at her roots and said “Kitti, do you remember how to perm hair?”  Now, of course I remember.  I did my own perms for years.  So, after a brief talk about the perm, we proceeded to do the thing.

This is the kicker though.

I’m standing there, gloves covered in white, slimy sodium choloride stuff, a comb in one hand, and I actually thought “I really miss this.” Let that statement sink in.  I, the Empress Regnant, missed getting perm.  I KNOW, RIGHT!!!! *laughs at self* Now, anyone who knows me knows that while I’m far from a “Natural Nazi,” I do advocate for it.  And I don’t know if it was the fumes from the perm, or the thought of being able to do what I want with my hair again, but I really stood there and considered going back to the perm when I came back to PB.  Maybe what the girl in “Good Hair” called it was true. “Creamy Crack” is powerful.  Something potent in every way.  Whether it’s the versatility that I thought I had, or straightness, or just the overall process, something is in that powerful little jar of cream.

I was snapped out of my potential relapse when I heard Deja utter the faithful words “Let’s take it off now before it burns, Kitti.”  Yea. That feeling is one feeling I don’t miss. I wondered if addicts in recovery ever think about the burns they got while free basing.  I thought of the burns I have gotten from the perms as I wash the crack down the drain.

“Am I addicted to you, creamy crack?” I wondered as I washed the remaining white globs out the combs.

That night in the shower I ran my fingers through my curl explosion and smiled.  Nah, I said. Not addicted at all.

But a chi iron purchase is on the agenda.